List of Presidents of India | Study Material | GK Boys

The president of India is the head of state of the Republic of India and the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The president is referred to as the first citizen of India. Although vested with these powers by the Constitution of India, the position is largely a ceremonial one and executive powers are de facto exercised by the prime minister.
List of Presidents of India | Study Material | GK Boys
There have been 15 presidents of India since the post was established when India was declared as a republic with the adoption of the Indian constitution in 1950. Apart from these fifteen, three acting presidents have also been in office for short periods of time. Varahagiri Venkata Giri became the acting president in 1969 after Zakir Husain, died in office. Giri was elected president a few months later. He remains the only person to have held office both as a president and acting president. Rajendra Prasad, the first president of India, is the only person to have held office for two terms.

List of Presidents of India

The president is elected by the Electoral College composed of elected members of the parliament houses, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, and also members of the Saasana Sabha or Vidhan Sabha, the state legislative assemblies. Presidents may remain in office for a tenure of five years, as stated by article 56, part V, of the Constitution of India. In the case where a president's term of office is terminated early or during the absence of the president, the vice president assumes office. By article 70 of part V, the parliament may decide how to discharge the functions of the president where this is not possible, or in any other unexpected contingency.
Presidents of India
NameHome StateParty
Rajendra PrasadBiharCongress
S RadhakrishnanTamil NaduInd.
Zakir HusainAndhra PradeshInd.
VV GiriOdishaInd.
Fakhruddin Ali AhmedDelhiCongress
Neelam Sanjiva ReddyAndhra PradeshJanata Party
Giani Zail SinghPunjabCongress
R VenkataramanTamil NaduCongress
Shankar Dayal SharmaMadhya PradeshCongress
KR NarayananKeralaCongress
APJ Abdul KalamTamil NaduInd.
Pratibha PatilMaharashtraCongress
Pranab MukherjeeWest BengalCongress
Droupadi MurmuOdishaBJP
Ramnath KovindUttar PradeshBJP

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.